Visitors – sketchy memories

Chatting about the gubbins of my daily life, my rummage through the moments in my day which bring me pleasure.

In the days, weeks and years to come I hope to be able to look back on these posts with fondness. Perhaps you will enjoy reading them.

 

P1040408
Photo of the day – The family

Friday 3rd August 2018 and beyond.

Today’s post is a perfect example of how easy it can be to forget the details of what happened only a few months ago. Heaven help me if I ever need to provide an alibi to the police –

‘Where were you on 10th August 2018 at 7.00pm?’

‘Errr ummm I can’t remember officer’

Whist Melinda and Greg were with us we went out for a curry one night. We had home-made lasagne another night. It was dry and unappetising and I usually make a great lasagne. I can’t remember which we ate on Thursday and which on Friday.

We had nothing planned for the Friday so hubby and I thought it might be an idea to take Greg and Melinda for a short walking tour around our neck of the woods. Visiting stately homes might be lovely but it didn’t give our Australian visitors a real feeling of life in small town Yorkshire.

Hubby and I are really disorganised when it comes to daytime meals. We often forget to eat at lunch time. Hunger sets in mid afternoon so we have a cup of tea and a sandwich, then we’re not really ready for our evening meal.

So we set out for a walk to our local park, and whilst we were strolling through, hubby and I realised it was well past lunch time. We knew there were pubs round about but had never eaten in any of them.  The first we arrived at had stopped serving food and we didn’t like the look of the second. The third place had always looked lovely from the outside so we ventured in. It wasn’t very inviting but by this time we were desperate. In any event the place was so small we couldn’t sneak out without being seen! We had a horrid sandwich and a quick drink.  The less said about it the better.

Note to self for future visitors – always factor in a picnic lunch.

Time for the big family get together on Saturday.  Hubby’s relatives all live close by and from time to time we have everyone round for our ‘famous’ chilli and curry days. We prepare several big pans of food, together with bread, baked potatoes, tortilla chips and always chicken nuggets and pizza as a stand by for the kids. Everyone just digs in and helps themselves. It’s very informal, always a bit chaotic but fun.

The weather was lovely so we opened the conservatory doors and we all spilled out into the garden. I’m sure Greg and Melinda had to answer loads of questions about life in Oz. The boys – from 5 years to 65 played football in the street. The girls played with our stash of toys and did a bit of drawing. The rest of us ate and drank.

Everyone seemed to have a good time. I always enjoy these days. We should do it more often.

We had a full day again on Sunday. Lunch at a pub in a local village for the four of us and hubby’s brother and wife (Trevor and Val), then the six of us off to Elland Road for the first match of the season.

P1040430
At Elland Road

The only special request we had for the visit was a trip to see a football match. Perhaps Greg was hoping for Premiership but the season hadn’t started so Leeds United in the Championship it was.

38469579_10216285506186008_6201508265151430656_n 2
Greg in Leeds Utd polo shirt – the Leeds salute

 

It was a great match.

Leeds won and Greg bought the t-shirt – well a polo shirt actually.

 

We rounded off the day sitting in Trevor’s and Val’s garden, eating takeaway pizza, drinking beer and Prosecco, relaxing and chatting. It was perfect.

So Monday came and it was time for goodbyes. We had been working on the jigsaw a little every day and it was very nearly finished. We needed more hours for the jigsaw and at least five more days to fit in everything Mike and I had planned

You might remember I said I wasn’t relaxed about having visitors. Well if they are all like Greg and Melinda ‘bring it on’ I say.  They were a joy to have.

 

11th November 2018

Todays Best Bits

Visiting my step-son and his wife and daughter (our granddaughter). They are opening a sandwich shop tomorrow and we wish them all the luck in the world.

Finding out more about the First Word War. I’m an information junkie so today, realising how little I know, I did a bit of research and I’m better informed tonight than I was this morning.

 

Todays boring bits

Weather – wet and dull this morning. Cheering up this afternoon with a bit of blue sky and sun.

Tea – Spanish style chicken bake. It’s a Hairy Dieters (Bikers) recipe that we come back to again and again.

TV – Man City v Man Utd – City won. We liked Pep Guardiola’s knitted jacket!

Darkest Hour – a film about Winston Churchill which we had recently seen on our cruise. Good film so worth a second viewing.

 

I can’t let today go by without mentioning that it’s the centenary of the end of the first world war.Version 2

At the going down of the sun and in the morning 

We will remember them.

Leave a comment